The International Boxing Association (AIBA) is a non-profit international organization which was founded under the name Fédération Internationale de Boxe Amateur (FIBA) in 1920. In 1946, a new start was given with the launch of AIBA to replace the dissolved FIBA. Today, AIBA, with its 195 National Member Federations, continues to govern the sport of boxing, working for the benefit of the sport and all its stakeholders, to help boxing realize its goals within the Olympic Movement and the international sporting arena.


History of Olympic Boxing

Boxing is often referred to as one of the oldest and most traditional of sports, its acceptance as an Olympic discipline can be traced back to the ancient Greeks in 688 BC. Onomastos of Smyrna was the very first recipient of a boxing gold medal at the Olympic Games. It is believed that the sport first originated in the Sumerian cities of ancient Egypt as well as in China as far back as the 3rd millennium BC.


History of Women's Boxing

The London 2012 Olympic Games will witness a historic moment for the sport of boxing with women making their debut in the competition. 36 boxers across three weight categories, Fly, Light and Middleweight will be testing themselves on the biggest stage of all. It will be a momentous occasion for the sport and one that will open a whole new chapter of Olympic achievements.


Past Medallists

Boxing has been contested at every Summer Olympic Games since its introduction to the program at the 1904 Summer Olympics, except for the 1912 Summer Olympics in Stockholm, because Swedish law banned the sport at the time. The 2008 Summer Olympics was the final games with boxing as a male only event. Beginning with the 2012 Summer Olympics, women's boxing will be included in the program.


AIBA Technical and Competition Rules

Download the document - PDF format

(English version)

Effective March 24, 2011 (Latest amendments: March 27, 2012)